NORTON PUBLIC SCHOOLS Norton, Massachusetts

NORTON SCHOOL COMMITTEE MINUTES OF MEETING

Date of School Committee Meeting: Monday, December 7, 2015

Location: Norton Middle School Library

Present: Committee Members: Chairman Drew Mackie, Vice-Chairman Deniz Savas, Mrs. Valerie Desmond, Mr. Daniel Sheedy, and Mrs. Marge Werner. Also present: Superintendent of Schools Joseph F. Baeta, School Business Manager Lincoln Lynch, Director of Curriculum and Instruction Jennifer O'Neill, Director of Pupil Personnel Services Jeanne Sullivan, Director of Technology Karen Winsper, Student Representatives Amanda Galpin and Daniel Gao.

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 6:30 PM.

Pledge of Allegiance:

Vote to Approve Meeting Minutes:

MOTION: by Mr. Savas to approve the minutes of the November 9, 2015 open meeting SECOND: by Mrs. Werner VOTE: 3 yes, 2 abstain

Student Representative Update:

Student Representatives updated the Committee on current activities.

- November 20th Dodgeball Fundraiser
- Theme days leading up to Thanksgiving
- NHS Trivia Night
- French Honor Society visit to Woonsocket Nursing Home
- Holiday cards for military personnel
- Participation in WGBH High School Quiz Show

Norton Middle School Update – Mr. Vincent Hayward, Staff and Students:

Principal Hayward said he was impressed with the quality of the staff and he was proud to be part of the team. He introduced the student council leaders and reported on the accomplishments of the various sports teams and clubs. The Site Council is working on the School Improvement Plan and MCAS Action Plan. Term I report cards have been issued and 83 students achieved high honors.

Mrs. Margo Bridges and students from the STEM lab gave a report on using the 3-D printers in the middle school. They passed around objects that they designed and printed. Their next challenge will be to produce robotic hands.

Announcement of Class of 2016 Adams Scholarship Recipients – Dr. Joseph Baeta:

The John and Abigail Adams Scholarship provides a tuition waiver for up to eight semesters of undergraduate study at a Massachusetts state college or university. Beginning with the Class of 2016, students must

- score at the *Advanced* performance level on one of the three high school state assessment tests in ELA. Mathematics, or STE (Biology, Chemistry, Introductory Physics, or Technology/Engineering) and
- score at the *Proficient* level or higher on the remaining two high school state assessment tests, and
- have combined scores from the three tests that place them in the top 25 percent of students in the graduating class in their district.

Fifty-one students qualified for the scholarship.

Kylie Abouzeid	Christopher Alves	Cody Aranjo
Carli Arcaro	Kaitlin Aucoin	Ryan Blakeley
Sean Cappellini	Joshua Carberry	Joseph Carrier
Christopher Casello	Parker Cleathero	Emily Czazasty
Paul Desmond	Ryan DiGregorio	Anya DiLorenzo
Louis Dion, III	Julianne Doyle	Bradley Driscoll
Maryssa Fairbanks	Alexandria Freedman	Katya Freitas
Amanda Galpin	Daniel Gao	Caroline Golota
Ethan Howarth	Victoria Jenkins	Aidan Kahn
Jared Kahn	Lucas Kane	Paul Karcis
Sarah King	Lucas Lavallee	Madeleine Larocque-Thompson
Edward Martin	Samantha McDonald	Matthew Morel
Hannah Nordstrom	Lindsey Nordstrom	Caroline Peers
Daniel Pereira	Cassandra Phillips	Gwen Saccocia
Lakynne Sargent	Jared Terwilliger	Robert Trudeau
Victoria Vaphiades	Benjamin Veglas	Colleen Weber
Danielle Whitman	Rebecca Wilson	Christopher Wrenn

Testing – Mr. Joseph Spremulli, NTA President:

Mr. Spremulli addressed the Committee with concerns from the teachers' association regarding state testing and the uncertainty of what the new testing involves. The NTA and the MTA support House Bill 340, which proposes a three-year moratorium on high stakes testing. The Norton Teachers Association hopes that the School Committee will support the bill. Mr. Savas wished to defer this discussion and take the next agenda item before a vote is taken.

Recommendation of Superintendent and Vote on State Testing – Dr. Joseph Baeta:

Dr. Baeta read comparisons of the MCAS and the PARCC and reasons why his recommendation is to stay with MCAS testing.

MOTION: by Mr. Savas to follow the recommendation of the Superintendent and stay with MCAS

SECOND: by Mrs. Werner VOTE: Unanimous

Discussion resumed on support of House Bill 340 as recommended by the NTA. Mr. Savas discussed the use of data and how it may figure into teacher evaluations. Discussion ended and the vote on the support of House Bill 340 was tabled.

Revised Restraint Policy – 1st Reading – Mrs. Jeanne Sullivan:

Mrs. Sullivan read proposed changes to the Physical Restraint Regulations and Reporting Requirements Policy to comply with new state regulations that go into effect January 1, 2016. This is the first reading. There will be a second reading and a vote on the next meeting agenda.

Vote on FY '17 Capital Budget Requests – Mr. Lincoln Lynch and Mr. Wade Lizotte:

Mr. Lynch and Mr. Lizotte have established priorities and revised the list to be submitted to the Town.

- 1) Replace carpet/install tile in NMS over three years
- 2) Install security cameras district-wide
- 3) John Deere tractor to replace non-working tractor for walkways at NMS
- 4) Exterior and interior doors, door handles, and locks district-wide
- 5) Special Education mini-bus to replace oldest mini-bus in fleet/district-wide
- 6) Resurface gym floors over three years NHS, NMS, HAY

MOTION: by Mrs. Desmond to approve the Capital Improvement Plan as presented by Mr. Lynch and Mr. Lizotte

SECOND: by Mrs. Werner VOTE: Unanimous

Personnel:

Resignations:

NMS - Mrs. Sarah Dominick, Spanish Teacher, effective November 23, 2015 LGN - Mrs. Theresa Dunford, School Nurse, effective December 4, 2015

New Hires:

LGN - Ms. Tessa Pinkham, .5 FTE K Paraprofessional, effective October 13, 2015 JCS - Ms. Sera Gaboury, Paraprofessional, effective November 12, 2015

Adjourn:

MOTION: by Mrs. Werner to adjourn the meeting SECOND: by Mr. Savas VOTE: Unanimous

The meeting adjourned at 8:10 PM.

Next Meeting Date: December 21, 2015 at Norton Middle School, 6:30 PM

Documents and Other Exhibits Used at Meeting:

- MTA testing documents
- MCAS Survey
- Physical Restraint Policy
- Capital Improvements priority list

Respectfully Submitted, Joseph F. Baeta, Ed.D. Secretary Pro Tem

Andrew Mackie, Chairman

Deniz Savas, Vice-Chairman

Valerie Desmond

Daniel Sheedy

Margaret Werner