Planning Board

Norton Planning Board

The Norton Planning Board is a seven member elected board, meeting bi-weekly on Tuesday evenings. (Call us for filing deadlines). The Planning Board is responsible for granting Special Permits, Accepting Streets, and performing Site Plan Review and Comprehensive Master Planning for the Town of Norton. Questions are welcomed by the Department Director.

The Norton Planning Board is looking for members in 2018!
"Be the change you want to see in the world."

We meet 2-3 times a month on Tuesday evenings, no longer than an hour (around Town meeting, sometimes its longer).
Planning staff assists the board in gthering and reviewing materials, you need only be present at the meeting.

Contact the office of the Town Clerk to pull papers for the annual town election (Also online at the link here).
Still need help deciding if the planning board is right for you? Give us a call at 508-285-0278 or email us using the contact form. 

DON'T KNOW WHERE TO START? A Homeowners Guide to Permitting
April 2018 * Simple Information on Spring Town Meeting Articles 20-22 from Planning Board*
Planning Board Links

Planning Board AGENDASPlanning Board MINUTESPlanning Board VIDEO
Public Notices (Search for Norton)Norton Economic DevelopmentZoning BylawZoning Map (2017)
Norton Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA)Applications & FeesTown Meetings- Zoning Articles
Subdivision Regulations (updated 1999)Regional PartnersDPED Social Media (Facebook, Twitter, Blog)
Transportation Planning ProjectsNorton GIS Map (No zoning)News & Events

2016-2017 Zoning Bylaw Additions, Map Amendments*:

Large Scale Solar Zoning Bylaw (2016)

Stormwater Bylaw (Gen. Bylaw 2016)Leonard Street Re-zoning (Article 9, 2017)

Mansfield Ave Re-zoning (Article 10, 2017)

*These have been voted in via Town Meeting and filed with the MA Attorney General, thus considered active. In the process of being codified and drafted into a revised town map.


Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Tabitha Harkin Director of Planning & Economic Development 508-285-0279

Planning Board Members 2018

Joe Fernandes



Stephen J. Jurczyk

Vice Chairperson




Frank N. Durant


Kevin O'Neil


Timothy Griffin


Steve Hornsby