NORTON PUBLIC SCHOOLS Norton, Massachusetts

NORTON SCHOOL COMMITTEE MINUTES OF MEETING

Date of School Committee Meeting: Monday, May 11, 2015

Location: Norton Middle School Library

Present: Committee Members: Chairman Deniz Savas, Mrs. Valerie Desmond, Andrew Mackie, Mr. Dan Sheedy, and Mrs. Marge Werner. Also present: Superintendent of Schools Joseph F. Baeta, School Business Manager Lincoln Lynch, Director of Curriculum and Instruction Jennifer O'Neill, Director of Pupil Personnel Services Jeanne Sullivan, Director of Technology Karen Winsper.

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 6:06 PM.

Pledge of Allegiance:

Reorganization of School Committee:

Reorganization of the Norton School Committee is required by the School Committee Bylaws at the first meeting following the Annual Town Election. Dr. Baeta opened nominations for chairman. Mr. Savas nominated Mr. Mackie for chairman, seconded by Mrs. Werner. Mr. Savas made a motion to close nominations, seconded by Mr. Sheedy. The vote was 4-0-1, and Mr. Mackie was elected as chairman.

Chairman Mackie opened nominations for Vice-Chairman. Mr. Mackie nominated Mr. Savas, seconded by Mrs. Werner. Mr. Mackie motioned to close nominations, seconded by Mrs. Werner. The vote was 4-0-1, and Mr. Savas was elected Vice-Chairman. Both The Chairman and Vice-Chairman hold their respective offices for one year or until their successors are duly elected.

The following appointments were made:

Legislative Representative - Mrs. Marge Werner Motion by Mr. Mackie, second by Mr. Savas, unanimous

Employee Negotiations Representative - Mr. Savas Motion by Mrs. Desmond, second by Mr. Sheedy, unanimous

Capital Improvements Committee - Mrs. Desmond Motion by Mrs. Werner, second by Mr. Savas, unanimous

NHS Building Committee - No action

SPED PAC Representative - Mrs. Desmond Motion by Mrs. Werner, second by Mr. Savas, unanimous School Liaison Assignments:

NHS: Mr. MackieNMS: Mrs. DesmondHAY: Mr. SheedyJCS: Mr. SavasLGN: Mrs. Werner

Vote to Approve Superintendent's Contract:

The Committee voted to ratify the contract with Superintendent Baeta for the duration of July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2020.

MOTION: by Mrs. Werner to ratify the contract with one adjustment from Mr. Sheedy SECOND: by Mr. Mackie VOTE: 5 yes motion carries

Approval of Meeting Minutes:

MOTION: by Mrs. Desmond to approve the minutes of April 27, 2015 open meeting and executive session
SECOND: by Mr. Savas
VOTE: 4 yes 1 abstain motion carries

Vote to Approve 2015-2016 School Committee Meeting Dates:

Dr. Baeta suggested that the first meeting on September 14th should include the opening of school reports from all five principals.

MOTION: by Mr. Savas to approve the meeting dates for 2015-2016 SECOND: by Mrs. Werner VOTE: 5 yes motion carries

Other:

Dr. Baeta announced that Mr. Anthony DiFonso will take over as principal of the H. A. Yelle School on approximately July 1st.

Dr. Baeta welcomed Mr. Dan Sheedy to the School Committee.

The Finance Committee is recommending \$25,030,000 at Town Meeting for the school budget but Mr. Savas indicated that the figure might be adjusted to \$25,000,000.

The Kay Burton Scholarship was discussed.

Dr. Baeta discussed giving an honorary Norton High School Diploma to Mr. Herb Church. Mr. Church is an active local veteran and left school to join the service during wartime before he could earn his diploma. He wished to make the presentation during Memorial Day services.

Adjourn:

MOTION:by Mr. Savas to adjournSECOND:by Mrs. WernerVOTE:5 yesmotion carries

The meeting adjourned at 6:45 PM.

Next Meeting Date: Monday, May 18, at Norton Middle School

Documents and Other Exhibits used at Meeting:

• Proposed School Committee Meeting Dates

Respectfully Submitted, Joseph F. Baeta, Ed.D. Secretary Pro Tem

Andrew Mackie, Chairman

Deniz Savas, Vice-Chairman

Valerie Desmond

Dan Sheedy

Margaret Werner