NORTON PUBLIC SCHOOLS Norton, Massachusetts

NORTON SCHOOL COMMITTEE MINUTES OF MEETING

Date of School Committee Meeting: Monday, June 13, 2011

Location: Norton Middle School Library

Attending: Committee Members: Chairperson Elizabeth McManus, Vice-chairperson Mr. Deniz Savas, Mr. Tom Golota, Mr. Andrew Mackie, and Mrs. Margaret Werner. Superintendent Patricia Ansay and Student Representatives Kady Ferguson and Sarah Pishdadian were also present.

Call to Order: Chairperson McManus called the meeting to order at 6:30 P.M.

Pledge of Allegiance:

Vote to Approve Minutes of Prior Meetings:

Mr. Golota made a motion to approve the minutes of the May 16th meeting and May 2nd, 12th, 16th, and June 6th executive sessions, seconded by Mrs. Werner. The vote was 5-0 in favor of the motion.

Approval of Budget Transfers:

Two budget transfers were recommended. The first recommendation was to move funds from the administrative technology salary line to the expense side for instructional art supplies at NHS and to cover software support. The second transfer recommended was to move an amount of money from the administrative technology salary line to the supply expense side for the purchase of software for the middle school, a projector with audio system. On a motion by Mr. Mackie, seconded by Mr. Golota, the motion was approved by a 5-0 vote.

N.E.E.D. Teacher Scholarship Award – Mrs. Gretchen Stalters:

Mrs. Gretchen Stalters was present to make the awards. The fund-raiser for this past year was an art project and items designed by students were sold. Sales from the art project and contributions from the Thank a Teacher project raised \$9,000. Grants were given to Joseph Spremulli (NMS), Jessica Iozzi (NHS), Jen Carlson (LGN), and several JCS teachers who will receive responsive classroom teacher training. One request from Jill Kelly (HAY) will be funded from a SPED grant, and if funds are not sufficient, N.E.E.D. will provide the remainder. The School Committee thanked the N.E.E.D. group for all they provide.

Mrs. McManus also thanked Mrs. Stalters, a member of the Norton Cable Access Committee, for its donation toward the press box.

School Improvement Plans – Principals:

All building principals summarized the progress made to their individual school plans, noted highlights from the past year, and outlined plans for next year.

Mr. Mackie made a motion to accept the five school improvement plans, seconded by Mr. Savas. The vote was 5-0 in favor.

Five-Year Strategic Plan/District Improvement Plans – Dr. Amy Berdos:

Dr. Berdos began by stating that this is the fifth year of the Strategic Plan and District Improvement Plan. Topics mentioned were getting data into the hands of teachers, curriculum mapping, standards based instruction, professional development, and mentoring program. She felt that the plan format should be changed to a three-year duration. The three themes mentioned were Excellence in Teaching and Learning, School Culture and Climate, and Facilities. Dr. Ansay mentioned that this is the first reading and it will come back for School Committee approval.

Middle School Handbook Revisions - Mr. Michael O'Rourke:

Principal O'Rourke explained several changes planned for the handbook including disruptive behavior and cell phones. Discussion took place on the proposed change in student suspension for substance abuse and weapons, from five days to ten days. At the conclusion of discussion, Mr. Mackie made a motion to accept the recommended changes to the middle school handbook, seconded by Mr. Golota. The vote was 4-0 in favor of the motion. Mr. Savas abstained.

Vote to Apply to the READS Collaborative:

An ever increasing number of students have been placed in, or evaluated by, READS Collaborative. Norton is not a member and is required to pay non-member tuition and evaluation rates. The district has currently met the criteria of four evaluations to be considered for membership, and member rates are generally lower than non-member rates. The School Committee is required to vote, designating the Superintendent to be on the Board of Directors, who will attend five board meetings per year. The district will not officially become a member until 2013, but it is important to get in the time line before another year passes. Mr. Mackie made a motion to apply for membership, seconded by Mr. Golota. The vote was 5-0 in favor of the motion.

Vote to Approve Third Year Facilities Vendor Contracts:

Dr. Ansay recommended that the committee approve the award of contracts to the following vendors. All contracts are in the third year except for the Electrical Contract, which is in the second year of a two-year contract. All are due to expire on June 30, 2012. In March new contracts will be put out to bid.

Electrical Services – Ron Perry Electric Boiler/Burner Services – Boiler Equipment, Inc. Elevator – Atlantic Elevator

Fire Alarms – Home Electronic Life Protection (H.E.L.P.)

Burglar Alarms – Home Electronic Life Protection (H.E.L.P.)

HVAC/Pneumatic Services - Mechanical Air

Pest Control Services – Flynn Pest Control

Septic System Services – Soares Sanitation & Pumping

Glass Repair – Strojny Glass

AC/Refrigeration Services - Mechanical Air

Plumbing Services – C.P. Rich Plumbing

Painting – Weeks & Son

Transportation – Bloom Bus (regular day transportation)

On a motion by Mr. Savas, seconded by Mrs. Werner, the Committee awarded all bids as recommended. The vote was 5-0 in favor of the motion.

Norton High School Building Project Update:

Dr. Ansay recommended that the bid for the NHS track be awarded to I.W. Harding Construction Company in the amount of \$349,808, which was the low bid. On a motion by Mr. Golota, seconded by Mr. Mackie, the Committee approved the contract by a vote of 5-0.

Bleacher replacement will begin with site work. Hopefully, the bleachers will be installed by October. Dr. Ansay recommended that the bid be awarded to the low bidder, E&D Specialty Stands, Inc. for \$321,640. On a motion by Mr. Golota, seconded by Mr. Savas, the Committee voted 5-0 in the affirmative.

Personnel:

Retirements:

Mrs. Irene Stanovitch, Cafeteria Director, effective June 30, 2011

Mrs. Nancy May, NHS Cafeteria, effective June 23, 2011

Mrs. Debra Aaronson, HAY Para, effective June 24, 2011

Mrs. Pat Taylor, NMS Para/Library Media Technician, effective June 24, 2011

Appointments:

Mrs. Jennifer O'Neill – Director of Curriculum and Instruction

Mr. Ronnie Goldstein – NMS Assistant Principal

Ms. Laura Twomey – NHS SPED Inclusion Teacher

Ms. Lauren Herman – NMS .6 School Psychologist

Mrs. Michele Baeta – NMS .5 SPED Chairperson

Ms. Joanna Wissler - NHS Science Teacher

Mr. David Murphy – NMS Math Teacher

Ms. Cheryl Lassey – JCS Adjustment Counselor

Ms. Brittany Wallace – NHS Guidance Counselor

Mr. Daniel Langmead - NHS SPED Inclusion Teacher

Mrs. Christina McGourty – NHS SPED STEP Program Teacher

Other:

Dr. Ansay introduced Mr. Barry Nectow, Director of Finance and Operations.

Mr. Mackie made a motion, seconded by Mr. Golota, to enter executive session and not return to open session. On a roll call vote, all members voted in the affirmative. The meeting adjourned at 8:56 P.M.

NEXT MEETING DATE: September 12, 2011, at Henri A. Yelle School Library.

Respectfully Submitted, Patricia H. Ansay, Ed.D.
Secretary pro tem